Core Health Dynamics |Q &A #1 | Vitamins!

You know what makes me happy? Well, a lot of things actually!

But…know what makes me happy about Blogging, and this Post in particular? People are asking questions, wanting to know how to feel better, and how to be fitter and healthier. Which is cool as I always try to respond to people if they like one of my Posts or start Following me. I’ll never take this for granted and am really humbled when people do either of these things. I then make sure I give something back – I invite them to ask me a question or to submit any health and fitness questions they may have, and I’ll respond.

Problem is, I’m getting a few submittals now. And if you read my last Post here, you would have seen that life is treating me well and that I am busy. Therefore, it’s harder to respond individually. But where there is adversity, there is opportunity! I thought, why not do a fortnightly Q&A? This way I can cover off more than one question at a time, invite even more questions, and chat about some common, hot topics. Such as Vitamins. So, to those who asked (you know who you are), I hope you find this Post useful!


Vitamins: What, why, where, and how?

The ‘What’ depends on your ‘Why’. Why do you want to / have to/ need to take vitamins?

  • Is it GP recommended based on your last Doctor’s visit?
  • Is it based on a Nutritionists or Dietitians advice?
  • Do you have a prescribed medical condition which causes you not to produce/digest vitamins appropriately?

If the answer is ‘No’ to any of these, let me give you this: “Hmmmm…” (imagine I’m frowning at you too!).

The reason I’m frowning is because a lot of vitamin related purchases and ingestion is based on articles in magazines or websites (such as Blogs,,.yes, I get the irony), the latest ‘fad diet’, or what your Bestie is taking. Be mindful that each of these plays heavily on your emotions and peer pressure.

Vitamins can cost a lot of money. I mean, ‘A LOT’! I sometimes think I should sell my conscience and ethics and dive headlong into the supplement trade. I am gob-smacked when I walk into some self-proclaimed health and/or organic food shops and check out the prices of everyday vitamins, let alone the chain grocery stores who sell Coke and cake frosting in the next aisle over. You want me to pay $99.95 for a bottle of 100 tablets that promise to lower my blood pressure? Take twice a day? That’s $2 a day, or $730.00 per year. No wonder I have high blood pressure!

But putting cynical Rich aside for a moment, vitamins can be useful IF (this is the ‘where’ and ‘how’ part) :

  1. You have a definite deficit of one of the essential vitamins.
  2. It can be used along with or instead of pharmaceutical medication to provide relief from an actual chronic condition.
  3. You are not able to absorb enough of a recommended vitamin from your normal eating.

Let’s look at this last point. If you are eating fresh, clean, natural foods, you should be getting enough vitamins (and minerals for that matter). Eating red meat, cold water fish, and a variety of vegetables will provide most of the your vitamin needs. The problem is, we live in a crazy, hectic world where we don’t, or can’t, always eat perfectly, This is where vitamins can be of help. However, food is the way to go when it comes to ingesting vitamins naturally.

Another really important point in regards to food: A lot of vitamins can’t be transported and broken down to the parts of the body where they are really needed unless they have a protein or fat molecule to carry them along. So even if you are on vitamin supplements, try to take them during a meal

Need more info on Vitamins? Go to these Posts:

https://corehealthdynamics.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/vitamins-101/

And these – not strictly vitamins, but still awesome for you:

https://corehealthdynamics.wordpress.com/2014/09/18/life-saving-supplements-part-1-magnesium/

https://corehealthdynamics.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/life-saving-supplements-part-2-turmeric/


NEXT Q&A: Ketosis!


Hit me up – what health and fitness stuff do you want to know more about?

Leave a Reply

